[Review] Dread Softly by Caryn Larrinaga

Before diving into Dread Softly, the only other thing I’d read from Caryn Larrinaga was the audio version of her book Hide and Seek. I’d been incredibly impressed with that, so it was easy to want to grab this collection.

Every story in this collection is a winner. There isn’t a story inside that was lacking for anything. From the very first story, the author had me flying through pages, barely able to put the book down. Usually, I can stop for a little bit in a story if I have to, but not with this collection. I stopped between stories, or not at all. I actually read about 3/4 of the collection in one single sitting (when I was supposed to be sleeping–whoops!)

I love the subtle scares. Stories like “The Fishermen” and “Until Death” where brilliantly written in such a way where I physically got goosebumps/felt the hair on my neck stand on end. There’s not much I can say in praise of “Until Death” without spoiling the flash story, but it was so good I went back and read it again before moving on.

Larrinaga has a way of taking you into strange, fantastical POVs without ever making you wonder how you got there or what you’re doing there. “Watcher’s Warning” is a perfect example of such a story, and I ended up glad I don’t have a cat for fear of what they’re really looking at when they stare into dark corners.

This collection left me wanting more, staring confusedly at the end of the last story wondering why I wasn’t getting another one. I really love the story notes, too, getting a little insight from the author about where the stories came from and what they mean to her. I’ll add a small note of appreciation, too, that this came after the collection itself and not as a forword, since I like going into stories not quite sure what I’m getting from them.

The collection is a perfect mix of horror, a tiny bit of fantasy, and a good amount of the author working through her own fears–all the ingredients for a perfect collection of stories. The collection is released on September 14, 2021, and I know I can’t wait to buy myself a copy.

Disclaimer: I received a copy of this book free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a comment